Apres-Gym Meal: Seared Chicken Breast with Pineapple Barley

Lately I’ve been working pretty hard at the gym: I’m trying the fewer reps/ heavier weights routine, and find it actually very satisfying.  After a workout I try to eat something healthy, filling and high in protein: much like this barley and chicken combo.

I already had cooked barley that I made in a rice cooker the day before. I mixed it up with some onion, garlic, chili pepper and pineapple slices – stir-frying until warm. Then I added a teaspoon of fish sauce to add a bit of depth and 2 teaspoons of soy sauce to add a bit of salt.

I seared the chicken on a very hot pan for about 4- 5 minutes on each side.

Serve with cilantro.

You can easily make this with any other whole grain you like!

2 responses to “Apres-Gym Meal: Seared Chicken Breast with Pineapple Barley

  1. I love barley! What a great way to use an underutilized grain.

    Thanks for linking to us! And happy belated birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

