Be jealous, be very jealous

If you love seafood as much as I love seafood, that is.

Scallops and Freshwater Shrimp with Salad

Super-quick (and not expensive!) dinner. Freshwater shrimp ran me just under $5, and the scallops were about $5 as well. The veggies are from the Red Fire Farm CSA!

Freshwater shrimp has a more delicate taste than regular shrimp, so you have to be careful not to overcook it. I steamed mine for 45 seconds, then turned it over for another 45 seconds. Then I put it in the warm sauce, so it cooked for another maybe 10-15 seconds, then I chilled it with ice.

For the sauce:

Olive Oil + hot pepper + garlic + my cilantro-garlic sauce –>  Warm it all up and let sit while the shrimp cooks.

To cook scallops:

Dry them very well and sear quickly on each side. When the scallops are no longer glossy, they’re ready to go.

My salad was simple leaves of Romaine tossed with baby zucchini slices and an olive oil and lemon dressing.

The whole thing took me longer to eat than it took me to cook.  Just sayin’.

2 responses to “Be jealous, be very jealous

  1. Your dinner looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

