Heart and Tongue, intro

You guys know I have a weakness for animal parts that are not, say, commonly cooked in American households.  Today I’m cooking tongue and heart – stay tuned for pics and recipe 🙂

I’ve always wondered where the squeamishness about offal comes from – I mean, if you’re already eating meat, why discard such delicious bits? Especially the aforementioned tongue and heart – both are very lean, high in protein, iron and B-vitamins! 😉

PS – it’s best to buy offal at a reputable butcher and go organic. These things are mad cheap, so there is no excuse.

PPS – You should have seen the guy’s face when I told him I was “looking for some tongue.”  I recommend wording it differently.

Leave a Reply

